Do Archived Emails Get Deleted?

What is the difference between archive and delete?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox.

A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps.

Your Archive folder is never automatically emptied..

Where do photos go when archived?

You can archive any photo or video on your profile by tapping the “…” three-dots button in the top right of the post, then selecting “archive”. After being archived, these posts move into a special section of the app located at the top right corner of your profile.

How do I retrieve archived emails?

Finding archived emails via mobile apps If you are using the Gmail mobile app on your iOS or Android device, you can also access archived content easily. As on the web, you can use the search bar displayed above your mail to initiate a search; it will include archived content.

How do you delete archived messages?

Touch and hold each conversation that you want to archive or delete.Archive: To put the selected conversations into your archives, tap Archive. . … Mark all as read: Tap More. Mark all as read.Delete: To delete the selected conversations from Messages, tap Delete .

What are the benefits of archiving email?

How can your business benefit from email archiving?Reduced storage requirements. … Prevents users from losing data. … Increased server performance. … Simplified backup and restore. … Eliminates mailbox quotas. … Accelerates search capabilities. … Accounts for all users. … Eliminates PST files.More items…•

Do archived emails take up space?

Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. Even messages in the trash and spam are counted. The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

What happens when you archive an email?

If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called “All Mail.” When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it.

Do archived photos get deleted?

Archived photos will stay in your albums and search results, but won’t appear in your main Photos tab. It’s a handy way to keep your main stream clutter-free and hide extra shots that you don’t want to delete completely.

Where do emails go when you archive them?

In the Gmail app for iPhone, iPad, or Android, tap the Archive button in the top menu that appears. The Archive button has the same design as the button shown on the Gmail website. Any email you archive will disappear from your main Gmail inbox, including from any of the focused categories you might have.

Does archiving photos save space?

Archiving photos does nothing to conserve or otherwise free up your storage space. All that does is removes the selected pictures from your main photo timeline. Only pictures that are uploaded as Original Quality will count against your storage space.

How do you retrieve photos from archive?

On your Android phone or tablet, open the Google Photos app .Sign in to your Google Account.Tap Menu Archive.Select a photo. Touch and hold to select multiple photos.Tap More Unarchive.

Do archived emails get deleted Gmail?

The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function. … The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

Why does Iphone archive email instead of delete?

Archiving email keeps the messages in an Archived folder, but Deleting moves them to the trash. … In iOS 7, to change it so that way the emails will delete, go into Settings, tap on Mail, Contacts & Calendars and tap on your Gmail account that is listed. Then tap on Account.

Should I archive or delete emails?

Deleting removes emails from your inbox. It does save up space, but you won’t be able to ever again access your emails. … Archiving goes beyond just email management.

What happens if I delete archived emails?

What happens when I archive or delete a message? Archive removes the message from your Inbox but keeps it in your account so that you can find it later. Delete moves the message to the Trash where it will be permanently deleted from your account after 30 days. Messages deleted from Trash can’t be recovered.